• Skip to main content
  • Home
  • About
  • Evidence Check
  • Research Reviews
  • Telehealth Evaluations
  • Weight Science
  • Shop
Tutela Medical

Tutela Medical

Comprehensive Monitoring Systems for Life Sciences

Axavive Dose Math: What 250 mg Across Six Herbs Means

May 5, 2026 by Tutela Medical

By the TutelaMedical.com Editorial Team | This article is for educational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Dietary supplements are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

The Axavive Supplement Facts panel lists one number that the marketing copy does not advertise: 250 mg. That is the entire proprietary blend, split across six botanical ingredients. The label discloses the ingredient identities. It does not disclose how those 250 milligrams are divided.

This article walks through what published research uses for each of those six ingredients, separately, at the doses the studies were actually run at. We compare those research doses to what 250 mg can plausibly deliver across six ingredients, and we surface the gap honestly.

This is the same dose-math discipline Tutela Medical applied to the NeuroSalt nerve supplement category. Different category, same question: when an ingredient appears on a label, what dose is it actually present at, and how does that compare to the dose research used?

At a Glance: Axavive Supplement

Category: Dietary supplement with proprietary botanical blend
Key Ingredients: Proprietary blend of six botanical ingredients (identities disclosed, individual doses not)
Total Blend Dose: 250 mg across six herbs
Price: Not disclosed
Refund Policy: Not disclosed
Label Transparency: Proprietary blend—ingredient names listed, per-ingredient doses hidden; total 250 mg disclosed
Estimated Per-Ingredient Range: Even split would yield ~41.67 mg each; plausible range 10–200 mg depending on manufacturer weighting
Best For: Consumers willing to accept that actual research-backed doses per ingredient cannot be verified from the label
Red Flags: Proprietary blend prevents verification of clinically effective doses; marketing implies research-backed efficacy without disclosing whether ingredient amounts match study doses; dose math gap between marketing claims and plausible delivery is substantial and unresolvable without manufacturer transparency

Why the Dose Question Matters

Supplement marketing across many categories shares a recurring pattern. An ingredient is named on the label. The marketing copy describes what that ingredient has been studied for. The implication is that the supplement delivers what the research found.

The implication is often false. Research used a specific dose to produce a specific effect. If the supplement contains a fraction of that dose, the supplement cannot reasonably be expected to produce the same effect. The ingredient is real. The research is real. The dose is not.

Proprietary blends amplify this problem because the buyer cannot verify per-ingredient amounts. The blend total is disclosed. The split is not. This is fully legal under DSHEA, but it shifts the burden of evaluation to a question the buyer cannot answer with the information provided.

Axavive's 250 mg total across six ingredients makes this an unusually clean test case. We can document what each ingredient's research uses, what an even split would deliver, and what the floor and ceiling of plausible per-ingredient doses look like.

The Math Floor and Ceiling

If the 250 mg proprietary blend were split evenly across six ingredients, each would land near 41.67 mg. That is the even-split benchmark.

Proprietary blends are rarely split evenly. Manufacturers weight ingredients based on cost, marketing priority, or a hero ingredient strategy where one or two compounds receive the bulk of the dose and the rest are present at smaller amounts (“fairy dusting” in the supplement industry's term).

The ceiling on any single ingredient is bounded by the blend total minus the other five ingredients' minimum presence. If the lowest five ingredients each contribute at least 10 mg (a typical floor for technical inclusion on a label), the highest single ingredient cannot exceed 200 mg. If the lowest five each contribute 25 mg, the ceiling drops to 125 mg for the highest.

The floor on any single ingredient is the minimum amount required to legally list it on the panel — typically 1 to 5 mg, depending on standardization.

This range — somewhere between trace amounts and an upper bound dictated by the other five ingredients' floors — is the entire dose range any individual Axavive ingredient could fall into. The buyer cannot narrow it further from the label as published.

Maritime Pine Bark Extract (Pinus pinaster, 65% proanthocyanins)

Pine bark extract is one of the better-researched skin-relevant botanicals on the Axavive label. The standardized extract has been studied at 100 to 150 mg daily for skin endpoints including hydration and elasticity, and at similar doses for microcirculation outcomes. Some cardiovascular and cognitive trials have used 100 to 360 mg daily, often split into multiple doses.

Within a 250 mg six-ingredient blend, pine bark could be the hero ingredient and approach 100 mg, or it could be a smaller fraction. The label does not specify. If it is at the low end of plausible inclusion (10 to 30 mg), that is sub-research dosing for skin endpoints. If it is at the high end (closer to 100 mg), that is at the lower edge of research-aligned dosing.

Bacopa monnieri Powder (whole herb)

Bacopa monnieri's research base is heaviest in cognitive function. Standardized extracts (typically 50 percent bacosides) have been studied at 300 to 450 mg daily for cognitive endpoints. Whole-herb powder is a different preparation than standardized extract, and the active bacoside content per milligram is lower. Whole-herb dosing in traditional Ayurvedic use varies widely.

Bacopa's connection to skin endpoints in published literature is less direct — antioxidant capacity is the primary thread. Within a 250 mg blend, a Bacopa whole-herb fraction at any plausible level (say, 20 to 80 mg) would be well below cognitive research doses and at unclear effect levels for skin antioxidant defense.

Panax ginseng Powder (root)

Panax ginseng research uses standardized extracts most commonly at 200 to 400 mg daily, with some protocols going higher. Root powder is the unstandardized form, with ginsenoside content varying by source and preparation.

Some research has examined Panax ginseng for skin endpoints including elasticity and wrinkle parameters, with a 2014 trial using 3 grams (3,000 mg) of ginseng powder daily over 24 weeks reporting improved facial wrinkle outcomes. That dose is more than ten times the entire Axavive proprietary blend total. At any plausible inclusion within 250 mg, Panax ginseng in Axavive is well below skin-trial dosing.

Centella Asiatica Extract

Centella asiatica is the most directly skin-relevant botanical on the Axavive label by published research base. The standardized triterpene extract (TECA, totaling about 70 to 100 percent active triterpenes) has been studied at 60 to 180 mg daily for wound healing, dermal density, and connective tissue support.

The Axavive label lists “Centella Asiatica Extract” without specifying the standardization. Within a 250 mg blend, Centella asiatica extract could plausibly be at a research-aligned dose if it is one of the more heavily weighted ingredients — but only if the blend favors it specifically. The buyer has no way to confirm this from the label.

Gotu Kola Powder (Centella asiatica) (whole herb)

Gotu Kola is the common name for Centella asiatica. The Axavive label lists this as a separate ingredient in addition to Centella Asiatica Extract — implying that two different preparations of the same plant are both included. Gotu Kola whole-herb powder is the unstandardized form; Centella Asiatica Extract is the standardized form.

Whole-herb powder at any plausible inclusion within a 250 mg blend (say, 20 to 60 mg) delivers a much smaller amount of active triterpenes than the standardized extract at the same milligram amount. The combined Centella asiatica fraction (extract plus whole-herb) is the most plausible candidate for skin-relevant effect within the blend, but only if the combined fraction is sufficient and the standardized extract carries the bulk of the active compounds.

Astragaloside IV

Astragaloside IV is a specific triterpene saponin isolated from Astragalus membranaceus. Research on Astragaloside IV is largely preclinical (cell culture and animal studies) examining cellular signaling, antioxidant pathways, and cardiovascular effects. Human clinical trial data on isolated Astragaloside IV at oral doses for skin-specific endpoints is limited.

The Axavive marketing positions Astragaloside IV as the “golden seed” central ingredient. The label does not disclose the dose. Without published human dose-response data for skin endpoints, the question of whether the Axavive amount is meaningful is doubly uncertain — first because the dose is unstated, second because the research base for any specific oral human dose is thin.

Cistanche extract 10:1 (stem) (Cistanche deserticola)

Cistanche deserticola is a parasitic desert plant with a traditional-use base in Asian medicine. The “10:1” notation indicates a concentrated extract — 10 parts raw plant material reduced to 1 part extract. Modern research on Cistanche has examined antioxidant, neuroprotective, and adaptogenic effects, primarily in preclinical models.

Human clinical trial data on Cistanche stem extract at oral doses for skin-specific endpoints is limited. Within a 250 mg blend, any plausible Cistanche fraction is in the low milligram range at the 10:1 concentration. This represents a much smaller raw-equivalent amount than traditional preparations typically used.

What This Adds Up To

Six ingredients, 250 mg total. Every ingredient on the label is real and has some research base. The research bases are heaviest for pine bark extract, Centella asiatica, and Panax ginseng — the three ingredients with the most direct skin-relevant published evidence. The research bases are thinner for Astragaloside IV (mostly preclinical for skin endpoints), Cistanche (mostly traditional use plus preclinical), and Bacopa whole-herb in the skin context specifically.

Across all six, the dose disclosure gap means the buyer is buying ingredient identity, not ingredient amount. The marketing copy describes what each ingredient is studied for. The label does not confirm that Axavive contains research-aligned doses of any of them.

This is not a fatal flaw — proprietary blends are common and legal. It is a transparency consideration. Buyers who prioritize confirmed dose-research alignment cannot get that confirmation from Axavive's label. Buyers who prioritize once-daily, single-capsule botanical blend convenience may accept the trade-off.

How to Read Any Proprietary Blend

The dose math discipline applies broadly across the supplement category. Three quick filters that work on any proprietary blend label.

First, calculate the blend total divided by the number of ingredients. That is the even-split benchmark. Compare it to what published research uses for the most marketing-prominent ingredient. If the even split is 5 percent or 10 percent of research dosing, the marketing-prominent ingredient is almost certainly present at a sub-research dose unless it is the dominant component.

Second, identify the “hero ingredient” the marketing copy emphasizes most. That ingredient is most likely the largest fraction of the blend, but it can still be below research dosing if the blend total is small.

Third, look at the order of ingredients on the panel. By FDA labeling convention, ingredients within a proprietary blend are listed by descending weight — but in practice, this ordering is not always followed strictly, and the actual fractions can still vary widely.

Axavive lists Bacopa monnieri first, Astragaloside IV second, Centella Asiatica Extract third, Cistanche fourth, Gotu Kola fifth, Maritime Pine Bark Extract sixth, and Panax ginseng seventh in some marketing materials. The label panel order, as transcribed on the bottle, is the authoritative source for ordering — and that ordering suggests Bacopa is the highest-weighted ingredient. This would be unusual for a skin product, where Centella asiatica or pine bark would be the more research-aligned hero candidates.

The Editorial Bottom Line

Axavive contains six botanical ingredients in a 250 mg proprietary blend. The ingredient identities are verified. The per-ingredient doses are not disclosed. Compared to typical research doses for each ingredient individually, the blend is small enough that most ingredients are likely present at sub-research amounts unless the blend is heavily weighted toward one or two hero ingredients.

The ingredients the buyer is most likely paying for in research-relevant amounts are Centella asiatica (across both extract and whole-herb forms) and pine bark extract — the two ingredients with the most direct skin-relevant published research bases. Whether even those are at research-aligned doses depends on how the unstated split actually breaks down.

For the broader review of Axavive's product, pricing, and refund terms, see the full anchor review. For the analysis of how the axon renewal mechanism claim aligns with dermatology research, see the marketing-vs-dermatology breakdown. For the safety and interaction profile across these six botanicals, see the interaction analysis. For how this blend compares to mechanism categories with stronger published evidence bases — collagen peptides and retinoids — see the three-mechanism comparison.

This article is for general information purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Consult your doctor or qualified healthcare provider before making changes to your health routine.

Filed Under: Reviews

About · Editorial Policy · Privacy Policy · Terms of Service · Medical Disclaimer · Affiliate Disclosure · Contact
Some links on this site are paid links. If you purchase through them, TutelaMedical.com may earn a commission at no additional cost to you. This does not influence our research or editorial conclusions.
TutelaMedical.com is an independent health research publication — not a medical practice, healthcare provider, or monitoring service. The “Medical” in our domain reflects prior ownership history and does not indicate physician authorship, clinical services, or medical practice of any kind. Nothing on this site constitutes medical advice. Always consult your healthcare provider before making health decisions.
TutelaMedical.com is not affiliated with Tutela Monitoring Systems, Checkit plc (AIM: CKT), Checkit UK Limited, or any successor entities. For information about Checkit, visit checkit.net.
Copyright © 2026 · TutelaMedical.com · All rights reserved.